All About Alcohol

About 3 days ago I decided to stop drinking. You heard that right – not slow down or drink less, just STOP. I mean,  I’m sure I will drink moderate amounts of alcohol at some point in my life going forward. However, for 30 days I will not be drinking alcohol at all.

dsc_0017-copy

This might help you even if “alcohol” isn’t the name of your struggle bus:
During a recent meditation before yoga last week, I got seriously honest with myself, more honest than I can ever remember. The instructor said to ask yourself, “Why are you not losing weight? Push aside all of the bullshit and the excuses …really simple what is in your way?”

Cheese was the first thing that came to my mind. I’m lactose intolerant and cheese makes me so bloated. But I love it!! After a couple deep breaths, I realized holy shit! I drink too much…alcohol is standing in my way. I have been a slave to drinking empty calories every night before bed for years!! After enough drinks, I will even start snacking on anything I can find.

Can you be honest with yourself? What is the ideal version of you?

My ideal version of myself is someone who eats tons of fresh produce, spends a lot of time outside and doesn’t drink alcohol. I want to help lead people into sustainable healthy lifestyles. I don’t believe that drinking will help me achieve that goal. Not only that, but I still haven’t had kids. I’m so young and able to start all over with my health and the health of the future generation of my family.

My Day-to-Day “Red flags” that led me here:

  • I’m drinking at least one alcoholic beverage everyday
  • I feel guilty after consuming alcohol
  • I’ve mentioned to myself on more than one occasion in the last month that I drink too much
  • Reaching and opening a new bottle of wine feels a little too euphoric to me
  • After a hard day I would rather drink to forget everything instead of dealing with my problems and be present with my feelings
  • Alcohol is taking more from me than it’s giving back…my money, my energy, my health, my sleep, my metabolism, etc.
  • I feel cranky without alcohol
  • The only days I don’t drink are when I’m too hung over to have any more

Literally, as real as I could’ve possibly been with you.
Another thing, I have a lot of family dealing with their fair share of alcoholism and the long term effects. I’ve lost 2 of my grandparents due to the damaging side effects of alcoholism.

I crave alcohol after a long day and I tell myself that I’ve earned it. What is that?! For you, it might be chocolate or donuts, I don’t know. What we haven’t earned after a long day is something that will potentially bring harm to our bodies or stand between us and our goals. It’s a minor form of self-sabotage (a little exaggeration there), but if you know something can hurt you…why do people, myself included, use those things to reward ourselves? Seems backwards to me.

 

*None of the brands shown are sponsored nor does this article have any opinion based on them.

Leave a comment